top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureswj

how setting goals keeps you focused

I have always begun with the end in mind. I like to think about where I'd like to be in a year, two years, five years, and even twenty years. This isn't because I'm not happy where I'm at, but because I'm making a plan on how to achieve my goals.


Every November I sit down and assess my financial situation and determine how close I am to achieving my goals for the year. Sometimes those goals can involve saving a certain amount, opening up a Roth IRA, or beginning to invest in the stock market. Usually my goals are aggressive, meaning that I will have to stretch to achieve them, but that makes them even sweeter when I reach them. If you make $10,000 a year working part-time while in college and your goal is to save $10 per month, that may be a little too easy. However, saving $100 or $150 per month would be a more of a goal worth celebrating.


Because of careful planning, using the resources I've developed, great opportunities for work, and a great investing environment, I have been able to double my net worth for the past three years in row. Saving is never easy (even savers like myself like spending money on things I want), but having financial security and safety nets in place give me a peace of mind. I don't have to worry about my finances for now and the near future, and I hope for the rest of my life. And if I can do it, you certainly can. Read a Dave Ramsey book or listen to a podcast, read other personal finance blogs, spend an hour or two going over your finances. Choose today to set a goal and then act on it.



swj

8 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page